Posted on: January 3, 2018

Legislature Leadership for 2018-2019

The Cortland County Legislature kicked off the 2018-2019 Legislative term today with the appointment of a Chair and other key positions.

Republican Legislator Charles Sudbrink who represents Legislative District 17 (Cincinnatus, Freetown, Taylor, & Willet) was unanimously selected as the next Chair of the Cortland County Legislature. Mr. Sudbrink who is beginning his third term on the Legislature replaces fellow Republican Donnell Boyden.

Chairman Sudbrink said he looks forward to addressing the on-going issues facing the County including ensuring long-term financial stability of County finances and the over-crowding in the County jail.

Chair Sudbrink thanked the Legislature for its unanimous support and pledged to work with his fellow lawmakers to begin and resolve issues.
With his appointment Mr. Sudbrink becomes the 15th Chair of the Cortland County Legislature since its creation in 1974.
In addition to Chairman Sudbrink, Eric J. Mulvihill was reappointed as Clerk of the Legislature. Mr. Mulvihill was first appointed in 2016. He thanked the Legislature for the opportunity to continue serving.

Ms. Karen Howe was reappointed as County Attorney and Mr. Keith Dayton was reappointed as the County Public Defender. In other action the Legislature also endorsed Mr. Carl Bullock as the Veterans Affairs Officer.

The Legislature referred a resolution to fill a County Auditor position to the Personnel committee for further review.

The Legislature is expected to begin committee meetings very soon, the meeting schedules, agendas and related documents can be found at https://cortlandcountyny.iqm2.com/Citizens/default.aspx

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email